Report Card Grading Standard

This article answers the following questions: 

  • What is your grading standard? 
  • What determines a specific grade? 
  • What score is covered to an F? 
  • How do you calculate your grades?

ChatFortress has chosen to use the USA school grading standards for calculating the grades. We choose this model because of the universal acceptance and understanding of the grading system. Our goal is always to communicate cybersecurity clearly to anyone, regardless of their education and training. This is how we can empower users to create a cybersecurity culture. Our Report Cards are calculated as follows: 

Grading Systems in the U.S

There are two basic grading systems in the U.S and those are the numerical and the letter grade. These are the grades that you receive in your day to day assignments and tests. These are the first step of the grading system that will make up part of your GPA.

The numerical grading system in the U.S. is different to other places because that grading scale is from 0 to 100. Numerical grades are also broken down into a letter grade as well. Anything below a C (70) is considered a failing grade. Therefore, the next chart represents the letters with its corresponded grading scale:

  • A: 90-100
  • B: 80-89
  • C: 70-79
  • D: 60-69
  • F: 0-59

The letter grading system can also be broken down into a plus (+) or a minus (-). Take note that this plus/minus system may vary down to the tenth decimal system. The plus/minus system exists because when it comes to calculating your GPA for the semester, the letter value matters in the decimals. The following chart represents the grading system broken down into plus and minus:

  • A: 93-100
  • A-: 90-92
  • B+: 87-89
  • B: 83-86
  • B-: 80-82
  • C+: 77-79
  • C: 73-76
  • C-: 70-72
  • D+: 67-69
  • D: 63-66
  • D-: 60-62
  • F: Below 60
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us